Pros and cons of using a LessonUp Class

When you share a lesson through a LessonUp class, there is always a connection between you, the lesson material and the students. You know which students have already been engaged in the lessons. Every student who enters the class later always sees the lessons that have already been shared. You don't have to share the lesson again for the new students. In addition, you can take a test in a LessonUp class. This is not possible without using a LessonUp class.

However, students do need to register and then log in to LessonUp, via LessonUp.app or the LessonUp app. And students can then become creative, working under different accounts.

Good to know: students must have a class code or an invitation link in order to register in LessonUp. This is necessary because of the GDPR

Pros and cons of not using a LessonUp Class

Sharing a lesson, without a LessonUp class, via a link is quick and easy: you paste the link in an online learning environment and the students can easily access the material. There is also a downside to this: anyone with the link can sign up for your lesson. In addition, students can open this link over and over again. This is not a problem if a student works on the same device, but if a student follows the link on another device, this is a new student for LessonUp. Any feedback you have given will therefore no longer be visible to the student. And lessons shared in this way are always opened in a browser and not in the LessonUp app.

You can share a lesson via a LessonUp class and a link. After sharing a lesson with a LessonUp class, a link will appear. You can place this link in an online learning environment or other platform (mail, social media). Only students who are logged in to the classroom (and logged in to LessonUp) have access to this link.

Each class a new lesson?

If you work with parallel classes (in LessonUp), it is not necessary to create a separate original lesson for each class in My LessonUp. Unless you have specific reasons for doing so, you can hand out the same lesson directly to another class. A shared lesson is already a copy. This prevents a multiplicity of identical lessons in your LessonUp environment.

Did this answer your question?