Interaction in the classroom is great. But sometimes the dynamics of a lesson (class) can be stormy. In addition, it happens that students become so enthusiastic about LessonUp that they send the lesson code to other classes, causing your virtual class to grow by 300%. Recognisable situation? Luckily there are two options in LessonUp to avoid this situation.

Turning off student devices during a lesson

Turning off devices in the classroom no longer allows students to participate with their smartphone/tablet/laptop, but still allows interactivity in LessonUp. You can manage the interaction directly through the central screen. This way, you are 100% in control.

The option to turn off devices can be found at the bottom of the screen, while in presentation view (via "Teach" button). Then un-check the box 'student devices'.

Now it's now no longer possible to participate with a smartphone/tablet/laptop. Please note that this function is now disabled for all following lessons.

You will have to check the box again if you want students to use devices in your next lesson.

Close lesson to new participants

Unfortunately it happens a lot. Some of your students share the lesson pin code with other students… 😬 It is very frustrating for you to discover that 75 students are following your digital class, instead of the usual 25… Some of these ‘anonymous’ followers also enjoy answering your questions with ‘hilarious’ words that bring chaos into the classroom… This ruins the feeling of safety, motivation and enjoyment.

So… what can you do to prevent this?

Go to teaching mode, click on the student pin code at the bottom, left-hand side of your screen, and select "close for new participants".

The lesson is now closed to new participants. Even if they have the original code.

The code remains valid and after you have unchecked it, students with the previous code can simply log in again.

Did this answer your question?